Ceylon Tobacco Company appoints Harin de S Wijeyeratne as Board Director

Ceylon Tobacco Company PLC (CTC) today announced the appointment of distinguished corporate leader Harin de S Wijeyeratne as an Independent Non-Executive Director to its Board, effective February 01, 2024.

With this appointment, the CTC Board of Directors will now comprise Chairman Suresh Shah, Managing Director Monisha Abraham, KushanD’Alwis, Gary Tarrant, Rumana Rahman, Stuart Kidd, Towhid Akbar and Harin de S Wijeyeratne. 

Wijeyeratne is an Associate member of The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka and a Fellow member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants, UK. He has over 30 years of experience in general management, financial management and auditing, acquired through exposure gained at Investcorp Bank, Bahrain, Grindlays Bahrain Bank, Ernst & Young, Bahrain and Ernst & Young, Sri Lanka. 

He is also a Director of DFCC Bank and Trans Asia Hotels PLC and Chairman of the Audit Committees of these Organizations. He also functions as Chairman of the Audit Committee of MAS Holdings. 

He has also held the positions of Chief Executive Officer of the Sri Lanka Institute of Nanotechnology (Pvt) Limited (SLINTEC) and Independent Director of Union Assurance PLC, where he also functioned as the Chairman of its Board Audit and Compliance Committee.

Additionally, he serves as a director of the GaminiCorea Trust and is a trustee of the SLINTEC Endowment Trust Fund. He remains the Founder/ Owner of Avastha Financial Advisory Services and the Co-Founder of Kalyana, a mental health advocacy group.

The company and Board warmly welcome and look forward to Wijeyeratne strengthening CTC’s corporate governance, audit benchmarks, and best practices with his experience and acumen. 

Views: 63