Colombo South emerged as champions in Prima Under-15 Sri Lanka Youth League

The Colombo South team secured the championship of the Prima Under-15 Sri Lanka Youth League (SLYL) inter-district and inter-provincial tournament organized and structured by the Sri Lanka Cricket National Talent Pathway programme with the objective of identifying youth cricketers with potential at an early age.

The final match was held at Mercantile Cricket Association grounds on the 29th of November 2022 with the participation of youth cricketers selected from across the island.

Colombo South won by defeating the Colombo North that entered the finals undefeated in the preliminary round by three wickets. Winning the toss and electing to bat first, Colombo North scored 148 runs for 8 wickets in 50 overs while Colombo South who played the reply innings scored 151 runs for 7 wickets in 45.5 overs to reach victory.

Prima, in association with Sri Lanka Cricket, had made great strides towards uplifting junior cricketing talent in Sri Lanka for the last 12 years and had paved the way for thousands of young cricketers to represent their district and subsequently, their province. Many talented cricketers from past and present, who represent the national cricket team have had their beginnings at this tournament.

Speaking on the collaboration, Deputy General Manager, Ceylon Agro Industries, Prima Group Sri Lanka, Mr. Sajith Gunaratne, stated: “The Prima U15 Sri Lanka Youth League serves as a springboard for aspiring young cricketers to further develop their cricketing careers to national and international levels. I would like to extend my gratitude to Sri Lanka Cricket on behalf of Prima Group Sri Lanka for giving us the opportunity to continue this 12-year-long partnership after an interlude of two years on this revived edition of the tournament which is aligned with Prima’s continued efforts aimed at encouraging the next generation of young cricketers in the country.”

Hiruka Silva of Colombo South scored 61 runs in 100 balls with one six and 6 fours recording the only half-century recorded in the final match. The opening batsman Hiruka Silva and middle order batsman Thevindu Waywelwala built a 57-run partnership for the 5th wicket marking the turning point of this match. Accordingly, Hiruka Silva secured the ‘Player of the Final’ title.

Pabasara Dissanayake of Dambulla who scored 162 runs in 4 matches was recognized as the ‘Best Batsman’ while Dinuja Samararatne of Colombo North who took 8 wickets in 3 matches became the Best Bowler. Securing 68 runs and 9 wickets Damesh Mathishan of Dambulla was named ‘Player of the Tournament’.

Prima U15 SLYL 2022 tournament commenced on 21st November with the participation of youth cricketers selected from district level competing in five teams, namely, Galle, Colombo North, Colombo South, Kandy and Dambulla teams in ten matches at Mercantile Cricket Association grounds and Nationalized Service Grounds, Ratmalana.

Views: 50